The Undercroft, solidly constructed from the former basement of the Auberge d’Allemagne and as the new foundation of the building, was not used for 80 years. The Bishop opened it on Easter Day 1928 as a church hall. In 1938 it was made a gas-proof air raid shelter and in the early days of the conflict was used by the chaplain, his wife and scores of Maltese citizens. The undercroft has undegone recent renovation into a handsome space incorporating the Visitor Centre and The Undercroft Restaurant.
The Undercroft Restaurant is located in the crypt of the Anglican church, the first place of worship during the English colonization in 1800.
The Undercroft now offers its guests the opportunity to enjoy their important family or professional gatherings within these suggestive and historic walls surrounded by arches and aisles of the nineteenth century, left untouched by time offering a truly unique experience because it contains the idea of the sacred eating in a church and the profane, tasting vintage wines and high-level spirits.
The Undercroft is currently home to important events, such as book presentations, literary cafes with local writers, exhibitions of works by local artists, live classical music concerts, important meetings with archbishops and politicians, weddings, work dinners, parties of all kinds such as graduations, birthdays and anniversaries, all thanks to the size of the location that can accommodate up to 300 people, and the historical beauty that the place offers. An event celebrated here is undoubtedly a memorable event.